Data retention

Watch our video on Data retention:

 

Your data stored in Symplify has a due date based on your account license. Symplify will automatically check your database daily to remove old data in order to keep your account speedy and fresh.

Your retention settings can be viewed on Settings > Account.

 

Please note that if you want to make changes to your data retention you need to reach out to your Success manager since this might affect your Symplify license.

 

The retention can be set on different types of data:

 

Contact data

Contact data refers to the actual contacts in your database and all the data connected to each contact.

With the settings below, the time period for contact data is set to 1 year and purge type is based on when a contact was last modified (updated).

This will delete contacts who:

  • have not been updated the last 12 months
  • have not been included in any sendout the last 12 months
  • are not bounced or unsubscribed 

A maximum of 200 000 contacts per list per day will be deleted even if more matches the criteria.

By selecting to Purge on last import time, contacts who have not been updated with a file import within the timeframe will be affected. Please note that this method only should be selected if you are updating your databases with file imports. 

 

Message data

Messages are the messages sent to your contacts, which you can view on e.g. a contact's message history. Messages do not store replaceable placeholder data by default (learn more).

All settings for message data are period based and the data is stored for the selected time frame.

Message history is by default stored for 1 year which means that messages that are older than 1 year will be deleted and can not be exported or targeted using segments.
 

Message properties are any unique values that are connected to a message but not stored on a contact. E.g. if you trigger a journey for a contact with values only connected with the messages within journey.

 

DataDocs retention

DataDocs data can be automatically removed with data retention, configured per document type. Watch our short video specifically for setting up the retention jobs for DataDocs.


Unlike the retention types above, DataDocs retention is set up directly by account admins — not via your Customer Success Manager. You configure it under Settings > Contact data > DataDocs > [select the document type] > Retention tab. You can have one retention configuration per document type.
Documents matching the retention criteria will be deleted and are not restorable.


You can delete documents based on:

- Retention days only — documents older than X days, based on the document's dateCreated (leave blank to skip).

- Segment only — documents on contacts matching a segment (you need to first save the retention job before you can add a segment).

- Combined — both the days and the segment must match a document.

You can run the retention on a schedule or trigger it manually with Run now.

Please note: using a segment without any document conditions will delete all documents on matching contacts — Symplify shows an alert in these cases.

A document type with a scheduled retention is marked green in the document type overview, and also appears on the account summary.

Please visit our API documentation for more information about deleting documents.
 


Purchase history data (deprecated)

Please note that Purchase history is a deprecated add-on. Reach out to your Success manager to learn about its successor: DataDocs.

Purchase history data is the transactional data on your account (if integrated).

With the settings below, the time period for purchase history is set to two years based on the time the transaction was made (recommended).

 

This will delete rows that have a transaction time older than two years.

A maximum of 2 000 000 rows per list per day will be deleted even if more rows matches the criteria

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful